Home > Epic > A Man Amongst Children: Usain Bolt Breaks World Recod For 200 Meter In 19.19 Seconds!

A Man Amongst Children: Usain Bolt Breaks World Recod For 200 Meter In 19.19 Seconds!

Usain Bolt 200m Pic

The non-human himself, Usain Bolt, broke his second world record in four days. Usain ran a time of 19.19 seconds, slashing his previous time set in Beijing last year, by 11 0.11 seconds. Earlier this week, he ran a time of 9.58 seconds to break his own 100m world record by exactly the same margin. Usian Bolt also became the first man in 24 years to complete the Olympic blue riband double of the 100 and 200 metres since, fellow gold medalist, Carl Lewis’s at the Los Angeles Olympic Games in 1984. Its turning out to be a good birthday for the “Jamaican Bolt,” who turns 22 today.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Interview with Usian Bolt:

“It’s great, it is a dream come true,” Bolt said. “I knew the track was fast, but I didn’t know it was this fast. I am shocked.”

“I can definitely say I didn’t expect that because I was a little bit tired,” Bolt said after the race. “I said ‘Let’s try because people are really looking out for this’. I said ‘It won’t hurt to try’. So I tried really hard and now I’m really tired.

“Maybe next time I should just run the 200m or the 100m alone,” he added. “My form was going backwards. I wasn’t running upright. It wasn’t a good race but it was a fast one.”

Sources: TimeOnline & Guardian

  1. QT
    August 21, 2009 at 3:54 PM

    although i wouldn’t put it past “lightning bolt” to indeed slash a record by 11 seconds… i think you’ll find though that he actually slashed that record by 0.11 seconds.

    • sounddepth
      August 21, 2009 at 5:56 PM

      Thanks Krissy For Spotting The Typo.

  2. August 25, 2009 at 12:15 PM

    It is really joyful to have Bolt as a son of the soil. He has taught us so many lesson. Here is an article that I would like to share with your readers. http://blog.financiallysmartonline.com/?p=222

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

